I Have Prepared the Way

How many times have I promised you my direction and help?
The patriarchs believed and followed my commands.
My ways are not always easy.
Many times you will get weary on the journey.
Be assured Sarah and Abraham tired on their trip from Ur to Canaan.
Sarah had left behind a beautiful home and then resided in tents.
My followers realize there is satisfaction in obeying my words.
They seek to please Me.
I have ordered your steps and prepared the way.
Your obedience is pleasing to Me.
Follow Me and you will be astonished by my provision along the way.
I love you.

 Hebrews 11:8-10 (NIV) “By faith Abraham, when called to go to a place he would later receive as his inheritance, obeyed and went, even though he did not know where he was going. By faith he made his home in the promised land like a stranger in a foreign country; he lived in tents, as did Isaac and Jacob, who were heirs with him of the same promise. For he was looking forward to the city with foundations, whose architect and builder is God.”

image by Carmen CS
image, a photo by Carmen CS on Flickr.

In 1976, we emigrated from Canada to the United States and decided we would camp in a tent for two or three weeks on our way to Florida. It was a challenging experience for me.

For that reason I was glad when my husband was diagnosed with ALS and decided to travel full-time, it was in a truck and fifth-wheel. Like Sarah we gave up a beautiful home on a canal to live in approximately 300 square feet for the next ten years. The blessing is that I learned to be content with a simpler lifestyle and he has lived for nearly 19 years since the doctors declared he probably had only one or two years!!! God does prepare a way!! And like Abraham and Sarah, we look forward to our home in heaven with God.

About Rose Spillenaar Harmer

Rose is a retired marriage and family therapist and speaks on subjects related to prayer, spirituality, marriage and mental health. She travels throughout North America and one of her favorite subjects is "listening to God" through scripture, sermons and the still, inaudible voice of the Holy Spirit. She writes a weekly devotional called listeningtohear.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Devotional, Spirituality, Listening to God, Folowing Jesus, Heb. 11:8-10, Tenting, Travel - RV and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment