PRAYER JOURNALING

Although I was brought up in a Christian home with two ministers as my parents, it was not until I was thirty years old when I realized the words “Jesus loves me, this I know” became truth and reality in my life.  Then I asked Christ to be Lord and Master.  I truly wanted Him to lead and guide me.  I did know that one of the Christian disciplines was to read my Bible and pray everyday.  Reading scripture was not a problem since my mother would encourage us to read the Bible through every year which we often did.  However, praying was another matter.  Like Jack Hayford’s poem “Wand’ring Thot’s”, it seemed my mind ran everywhere and all too soon, I was making a cup of tea but then saw a card which should be addressed and sent out.  Before I knew it, I was busy doing chores instead of praying.

One day, someone suggested I begin to write my prayers out which would help me concentrate.  Then I read a book called “The Hour That Changes the World” by Dick Eastman.  He had twelve steps of prayer and said if we would pray each of them for five minutes, we would find an hour would pass quickly.  I began my own version of those steps which included praising God for something He is, confessing a fault or an area in my life where I needed God, listening to the Holy Spirit speak to me, reading my Bible and meditating on it.  My prayer time became my most delightful hour in my day, especially because when God spoke to me it was words of encouragement or direction I needed.

Since I have practiced and taught this method of praying, I decided to try writing this blog and perhaps a book using those precious words of love and acceptance that came out of this time with God.  The following is one of these entries:

ASK and YOU WILL RECEIVE

Trust Me with your wants and desires.

Formulate those vague longings into definite intentions.

If you are unhappy, take the time and effort to think through a request for something different.

This principle works in the spiritual world as well as in your everyday life.

Why are you so afraid to be who you are?

Why are you fearful to begin your projects?

Sometimes you are dominated by fear but, trust Me, believe in Me.

Simply ask and begin!  I love you and so do others.

Matthew 7:8 says ” For everyone who asks receives, he who seeks, finds, and to him who knocks the door will be opened”.  I have found that scripture to be true as I started to write and have found encouragement in my family and friends. (NIV 1984)

Rose Spillenaar Harmer

Rose was born in Kirkland Lake, Ontario, and is a marriage and family therapist.  She speaks on subjects related to prayer, spirituality, marriage, family and mental health.  Her travels take her throughout North America and she winters in Cape Coral, Florida.  Her published works include a short biography in Clayton’s Kids (2009) and a column entitled “Listening” which will be part of a forth-coming book.  She can be contacted at roseharmer@yahoo.com.

About Rose Spillenaar Harmer

Rose is a retired marriage and family therapist and speaks on subjects related to prayer, spirituality, marriage and mental health. She travels throughout North America and one of her favorite subjects is "listening to God" through scripture, sermons and the still, inaudible voice of the Holy Spirit. She writes a weekly devotional called listeningtohear.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to PRAYER JOURNALING

  1. I think this is great and I’m forwarding it to my kids. I hope they will see God’s amazing timing at work here. Thank you. I believe you are being faithful to what God has asked you to do by creating this blog. I’ll pray that it will be read by many and will lead many to deepening their relationship to God.

    Like

  2. Yes, being faithful to His calling. Great job starting this blog.
    Blessings,
    Jan

    Like

Leave a Reply

