Do You Schedule Rest and Relaxation?

Too many times I would come to the Lord for healing when my symptoms were simply brought on by stress of my own making.  My mentor, Dr. Cliff McLaughlan, worked with me for over twenty years and would tell me the story of trucks.  As a well-seasoned marriage and family therapist he was gifted in the art of story-telling.  (This does not do him justice!)  “A one ton truck is very capable of handling a one ton load; a two ton truck proves its ability time after time carrying a two ton load and the five ton truck is supplied with the power to haul five ton loads.  But when one puts a five ton load on a one ton truck”, he would ask, “What do you think would happen?”  Then with his ever ready smile, he would kindly touch my shoulder and say “You are a one ton truck”.  It was an object lesson of which I was reminded frequently during a very busy career.

Recently, I read Psalms 139:1,3 (TLB) “O Lord, you have examined my heart and know everything about me.  You chart the path ahead of me, and tell me where to stop and rest…..”  In my “listening” time, it seemed He reminded me of lessons I am still learning.  Because my husband has Lou Gehrig’s disease (ALS) and his dream was to explore North America, we travel for six months each year which should allow rest and relaxation.

My child, I came to heal,

However, I have a lesson I want you to learn:

I want you to learn to do less not more.

Be content to do a little work, rather than too much.

Only when you are sick you do slow down.

Even on vacation you plan a full program and often are tired.

Then you complain about feeling the pressures of life,

yet, you do not arrange times of refreshing and relaxation,

quiet days and times of reflection.

I came to give you energy and abundant life.

That is true!

Learn to cherish, accept and keep My gifts of love and life.

Rose Spillenaar Harmer

Rose was born in Kirkland Lake, Ontario, and is a retired marriage and family therapist.  She speaks on subjects related to prayer, spirituality, marriage, family and mental health.  Her travels take her throughout North America and she winters in Cape Coral, Florida.  Her published works include a short biography in Clayton’s Kids (2009) and a column “Listening” which will be part of a forth-coming book.  She can be contacted at roseharmer@yahoo.com.

About Rose Spillenaar Harmer

Rose is a retired marriage and family therapist and speaks on subjects related to prayer, spirituality, marriage and mental health. She travels throughout North America and one of her favorite subjects is "listening to God" through scripture, sermons and the still, inaudible voice of the Holy Spirit. She writes a weekly devotional called listeningtohear.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

