Bloom Where You’re Planted

In August of this year, we enjoyed five glorious days in Glacier National Park.  On a four mile hike, I noticed God had planted these wild flowers alongside our path.  Compared to the millions that visit this national treasure, only a small majority of people venture to discover the incredible world beyond the pavement.

There are many wildflowers God plants in obscure places where no one actually sees their beauty yet they blossom and grow.  Perhaps there is a lesson we can learn from them because sometimes we complain about the places God chooses to put us.

I thought of the drafty farmhouse we lived in perched on Highway 21 close to the town of Kincardine.  The snow would blow across Lake Huron and the empty fields to lodge in my cupboards around the dishes until my husband took layers of newspapers and tacked them inside.

Yet, it was also the scene of many precious neighborhood Bible Studies and gatherings which helped us grow in the Lord, hopefully blooming where we were planted.

Fast forward many years and several moves, we exchanged our lovely large home in Florida for a fifth wheel and truck, when Bob was diagnosed with ALS – Lou Gehrig’s Disease. The trailer was our home for the next ten years.

Blessings derived from that experience were to make life-long wonderful friends, rest, see our amazing North American continent, visit over two hundred National Parks and most importantly, Bob has outlived all the doctor’s dire predictions and is healthy.

In my devotional time, I must have mentioned to God the place where He had placed me, and this is what His still, small, inaudible Voice spoke to my spirit.

Let Me lead and guide you!

You are learning, and you know in your heart I have planned all things,

and taken care of you, from the very beginning.

Come to listen each day and learn from Me – and remember –

I have bountifully provided for you.

You know, you get as much satisfaction living in your tiny quarters,

as you did living in your large, charming home,

yet there are times you feel deprived as if you have less than all my goodness.

When I talked to My Father about the mission He gave Me,

I told him I missed the throne room on high,

I missed hearing the angels and enjoying the beautiful awesome life of heaven.

Come with Me as I teach you what I learned, when I walked this earth awhile.

I am so glad when my children experience My love,

and the glory of My beautiful creation.

Rose Spillenaar Harmer

https://listeningtohear.wordpress.com

About Rose Spillenaar Harmer

Rose is a retired marriage and family therapist and speaks on subjects related to prayer, spirituality, marriage and mental health. She travels throughout North America and one of her favorite subjects is "listening to God" through scripture, sermons and the still, inaudible voice of the Holy Spirit. She writes a weekly devotional called listeningtohear.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Bloom Where You’re Planted

  1. Thanks, Rose, for letting me know that you’d started listeningtohear. I’ve enjoyed reading what you’ve shared so far in it. “Bloom Where You’re Planted” reminded me again of Bob’s and your visiting us in Newfoundland. It was a long way from where we first met, at a church camp in northern Ontario. May God continue to bless Bob with good health and to bless your ministry for Him.

    Like

Leave a Reply

