Is God Your Gardener?

When we returned from our six month RV trip which included Ontario, Canada and Glacier National Park in Montana, I was very glad to be back in our condo in Cape Coral, Florida. One of my projects at our church this year was to help begin a church library. I was looking through my own library for donations when I came upon a favorite book by Joyce Landorf called “The High Cost of Growing.” She quoted Charles Spurgeon, one of history’s great ministers of God, who said,

“Oh, to have one’s soul as a field under heavenly cultivation, no wilderness but a garden of the Lord, walled around by grace, planted by instruction, visited by love, weeded by heavenly discipline, guarded by divine power.  One’s soul thus favored is prepared to yield fruit unto the glory of God.”

For some reason this passage reminded me of my own early life. It seemed as though my life had not been fruitful for the Lord. Although I had attended church, read my Bible and prayed, I did not experience God’s love. Actually, the parable of the Barren Fig Tree in Luke 13:6-8 (NLT) is a reminder of the barren life I lived before I made Christ the Lord of my life when I was in my thirties.

The passage in Luke says:  Then Jesus told this story: “A man planted a fig tree in his garden and came again and again to see if there was any fruit on it, but he was always disappointed. Finally, he said to his gardener, ‘I’ve waited three years, and there hasn’t been a single fig! Cut it down. It’s just taking up space in the garden. The gardener answered, ‘Sir, give it one more chance. Leave it another year, and I’ll give it special attention and plenty of fertilizer. If we get figs next year, fine. If not, then you can cut it down.’”

When we surrender our lives completely to the Lord, He is the gardener who cultivates the hard ground in our lives.

I WANT TO BE FIRST

I want to be first in your life – not last!

Receive My goodness and love,

Bask in My love,

Do you recognize the peace I have already given you?

 Simply express your thanks

 and live in My love.

Have you surrendered your life into God’s keeping?

Rose Spillenaar Harmer

About Rose Spillenaar Harmer

Rose is a retired marriage and family therapist and speaks on subjects related to prayer, spirituality, marriage and mental health. She travels throughout North America and one of her favorite subjects is "listening to God" through scripture, sermons and the still, inaudible voice of the Holy Spirit. She writes a weekly devotional called listeningtohear.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Is God Your Gardener?

  1. Another thought-provoking post, Rose! Many times I’ve felt like a barren fig tree. My prayer is that my life will be more fully surrendered into God’s keeping so that I will bear more fruit for Him.

    Like

    • Thanks again. I’m sure you have had much fruit throughout your life with your Bible Studies and family. Sometimes our feelings are different than God’s. He seems always to be proud of each step we take.

      Like

  2. mercyLORD says:

    Blessed is the man that walks not in the counsel of the ungodly, nor stands in the way of sinners, nor sits in the seat of the scornful: but his delight is in the law of the LORD, and in His law he meditates day and night. And he shall be like a tree planted by the rivers of water which brings forth his fruit in his season – his leaf also shall not wither, and whatever he does shall prosper. Psalm 1. Jesus said, Abide in Me, and I will abide in you to bring forth fruit. I have ordained you to bring forth much fruit. Glory to God. Thank You Lord for your mercies and bringing forth fruit.

    Like

Leave a Reply

