Are You Patient?

A Patient God

Yes, I am a patient God.

I want you to put Me first, and

 give Me your time and energy.

Let the work you do be

 an out-pouring of the love between us.

Be obedient to the heavenly calling

rather than seek the recognition of man.

I obeyed My Father, not the religious people.

You are My disciple – called by Me.

 Be willing to live My way.

I love you patiently; be patient with those around you.

Come and walk with Me.

 In our modern life today, we use instant products. Technology has helped to speed up our worlds with quicker communication and quicker answers to our problems, yet, we are losing the ability to be patient. We even have instant oatmeal on most of our pantry shelves instead of the old-fashioned variety that takes longer to prepare.

However, when I look back on my Christian walk, I witness the incredible patience of God who gently woos me with His love and care. Even as we surrender to His Lordship, he is content to watch us take those first stumbling baby steps in our new walk with Him. Many times when I had fallen down, His hand was there to help me up and applaud as I began to try to walk again. Patiently, He reminds me over and over again, He is not in a hurry but is delighted when I turn from a soft food and milk diet and begin to eat the meat of His Word.

We are the impatient ones, angry because we do not see spiritual maturity and wisdom as quickly as we desire. We want to see our lives, as Christians, produce tangible results. We’re so busy doing, we have no time for true intimacy. However, our patient teacher, the Holy Spirit, reminds us to take the time to develop a relationship with the King of kings and Lord of lords.  As I waited on Him this morning He tells me to live His way and walk with Him not the crowd.

Rose Spillenaar Harmer

About Rose Spillenaar Harmer

Rose is a retired marriage and family therapist and speaks on subjects related to prayer, spirituality, marriage and mental health. She travels throughout North America and one of her favorite subjects is "listening to God" through scripture, sermons and the still, inaudible voice of the Holy Spirit. She writes a weekly devotional called listeningtohear.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Are You Patient?

  1. loisjeanmc says:

    How wonderful that you have the patience to listen. Thank you for sharing with me. Yesterday as I was swimming I became present to the water supporting my body, just as God supports me all ways (always)
    and I began to hear the voice within .
    You are a blessing in my life. Love you! Lois Jean McLaughlan

    Like

  2. Bob Hunter says:

    Another post with an important message, that we should be patient in our growth in Him just as He is patient with us. It reminded me of the old adage that we need to learn to walk before we try to run.
    Besides appreciating what you said, I liked your change of format for this post, having the poem lead into the message instead of reinforcing it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

