God’s Peace at Christmas

During the Holy Season of Christmas, we rush around to buy presents, decorate our homes, have parties, and see our families. We neglect, however, to be still. Remember Christ came without any fanfare. Only a few recognized the birth of the King of kings and Lord of lords. If we are to experience His peace and presence, we must still our minds and hearts to receive Him, even during the flurry of the season.

How do we still our minds?

Personally I take some time in the morning when my mind is quiet to “listen” to the inaudible voice of the Holy Spirit speaking to my heart and directing my life. God wishes to communicate to all of us. When I “listen” I take a pen and paper and write down what I hear.

However, I find it difficult to obey all His suggestions, especially to slow down and find the peace and rest He wishes to impart. During this busy time, my doctor bandaged up my foot and told me to rest, religiously, all week. If I would follow his directions faithfully, my foot would be as good as new in one week!! I want to follow God’s directions as closely, to carry His stillness, peace and presence with me throughout the day.

Be Still

I want you to be still.

Your mind is going eighty miles per hour,

yet your body doesn’t work that quickly.

Don’t listen to your every whim and fancy.

Try to determine My ways of peace and what I find important.

Be still and know what is My will.

Let me help you in your world.

 I truly love you.

Trust in Me! 

As you take some time now to reflect on the gift of God’s Son whose birthday we celebrate, I trust His peace will be demonstrated in your mind and in your actions.

Rose photo

Rose Spillenaar Harmer is a retired marriage and family therapist.  Her travels take her throughout North America and she winters in Cape Coral, Florida.  This devotional is part of a forth-coming book.

About Rose Spillenaar Harmer

Rose is a retired marriage and family therapist and speaks on subjects related to prayer, spirituality, marriage and mental health. She travels throughout North America and one of her favorite subjects is "listening to God" through scripture, sermons and the still, inaudible voice of the Holy Spirit. She writes a weekly devotional called listeningtohear.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to God’s Peace at Christmas

  1. Good message–“Be still.” Merry Christmas, Rose, to your husband (Bob) and you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

