A NEW YEAR

As I pondered about the changes I wanted to make for this year, I praised God for being my friend and guide, and showing me His love and care especially throughout this past year. I was confessing that I didn’t know how to get all my tasks done when it seemed God said:

My child, you cannot grow when you are burdened down with so many things.

                                  Allow my Holy Spirit to guide you into all truth and

                                    take this one day off to simply rest in my love.”

 Just a bit later, I opened my Bible to these verses:

 The revelation of God is whole

and pulls our lives together.

The signposts of God are clear

And point out the right road.

The life-maps of God are right,

showing the way to joy.

The directions of God are plain

and easy on the eyes.

(The Message:  Psalms 19:7-8)

God has given us many tools to show us how to live:

– We have the Word of God written in many translations, illuminating new truths and emphasizing those we learned at our parents’ side.

– Each church meeting we attend is blessed with worship, praise and wonderful sermons.

– Quiet time extends to include the voice of the Holy Spirit, inaudible but speaking to our minds, assuring that Christ loves us and sends the Comforter to guide us into all truth.

– We are blessed with many authors who write faithfully in our generation, encouraging and uplifting us.

My aim is to listen more closely, to follow His directions and His life-maps.

Have a blessed and happy New Year.

Rose Spillenaar Harmer

Rose Spillenaar Harmer

Rose is a retired marriage and family therapist who enjoys speaking on subjects related to family and prayer.  She is presently writing this devotional and a book entitled “Listening”.  You can access the weekly devotional at http://www.listeningtohear.wordpress.com

About Rose Spillenaar Harmer

Rose is a retired marriage and family therapist and speaks on subjects related to prayer, spirituality, marriage and mental health. She travels throughout North America and one of her favorite subjects is "listening to God" through scripture, sermons and the still, inaudible voice of the Holy Spirit. She writes a weekly devotional called listeningtohear.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A NEW YEAR

  1. Bob Hunter says:

    When I retired, I thought that I’d have lots of time to do the things that I needed or wanted to do. However, like you, sometimes I find it hard to get everything done. But, again like you, I’ve found that as I put the Lord first He guides me.

    God has certainly given us many tools to show us how to live. Three that have been helpful to me besides the ones that you listed are family (especially my wife and my adult daughter), Christian friends, and church groups. I share your determination to follow God’s directions and life-maps.

    Best wishes, Rose, for 2013.

    Like

Leave a Reply

