Learning to Rest

Since I truly want to walk closely with my Lord who has been patiently instructing me to rest,  I looked up a familiar scripture in Matthew 11:28-30 in the Message:

“Are you tired? Worn out? Burned out…? Come to me. Get away with me and you’ll recover your life. I’ll show you how to take a real rest. Walk with me and work with me – watch how I do it. Learn the unforced rhythms of grace. I won’t lay anything heavy or ill-fitting on you. Keep company with me and you’ll learn to live freely and lightly.”

Last week a person commented how we need balance in our lives. Some people, like me, often try to do too much.  After all, our parents were great examples of very busy people with very busy lives, and “doing” was what they taught us. However God seems to have a different plan: to come away and rest, to talk together, and to listen. And what are “unforced rhythms of grace?” My life is always full of effort and strength of will, yet here God says life can be unforced, a life of grace, which speaks of ease and balance with no struggle. Yes, God, I want to learn Your ways.

Gentle Suggestions:

You are learning crucial principles of resting in Me.

When you work until your nerves are frazzled, you often cannot hear My voice.

When you come apart for a time and sit, like Mary, you hear Me.

Martha only heard these voices within:

“You must make your best meal!

 Take out the good china, bake a special dessert;

Oh, and do not forget to tidy up. You must do your best for Jesus.”

However, in her busy perfectionism, she never heard My words.

Mary did!

For I do not need fine china or the trappings of wealth and position,

I am still saying, today, ‘choose the best part.’

Do not imagine what I want,

But listen to My words and I will listen to yours.

We will have the intimacy and companionship all the world wants,

And we will have this by sitting quietly,

 conversing with each other in peace and at rest.

Rose Spillenaar Harmer was born in Kirkland Lake, Ontario, Canada, daughter of Rev. John and Tyyne Spillenaar.  Her dad was a missionary to the Indians and Inuit of the Far North. Rose is a retired marriage and family therapist who enjoys prayer journaling and writing devotionals on “listening to God.”

Rose Spillenaar Harmer

Rose Spillenaar Harmer

About Rose Spillenaar Harmer

Rose is a retired marriage and family therapist and speaks on subjects related to prayer, spirituality, marriage and mental health. She travels throughout North America and one of her favorite subjects is "listening to God" through scripture, sermons and the still, inaudible voice of the Holy Spirit. She writes a weekly devotional called listeningtohear.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Learning to Rest

  1. Lisa Owens says:

    Thank you for confirming what the Lord has already been speaking to me about, balance & boundaries!

    Like

Leave a Reply

