What Did You Learn?

In one of my devotional “listening” times, it seemed the Lord said the following:

My child, you cannot learn My ways when you make rigid schedules!

I learned My Father’s ways during twenty-nine years of waiting.

Scripture does not give you many details of My life as a carpenter.

And perhaps at times, I may have asked “was this the time?”

However, through these years I learned obedience.

I talked to My Heavenly Father during My workday

as well as in the evening hours.

I am more interested in you being obedient, molded by Me,

than in seeing you do many activities.

I truly want to help you learn to relax.

 Actually I “heard” this on Wednesday and I took the Lord’s admonition to rest seriously on Thursday and Friday. My rigid schedules were forgotten and the days flowed easily and smoothly.  God has a great sense of humor and I accomplished work, without agitation and had more tranquility and peace.  I stopped striving and allowed Him to take more control.

Rose Spillenaar Harmerhttp:www.listeningtohear.wordpress.com

Rose Spillenaar Harmer
http:www.listeningtohear.wordpress.com

About Rose Spillenaar Harmer

Rose is a retired marriage and family therapist and speaks on subjects related to prayer, spirituality, marriage and mental health. She travels throughout North America and one of her favorite subjects is "listening to God" through scripture, sermons and the still, inaudible voice of the Holy Spirit. She writes a weekly devotional called listeningtohear.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to What Did You Learn?

  1. I also am prone to imposing rigid schedules on myself. Hopefully trying to follow your example of taking the Lord’s admonition to rest more seriously will bring me the same results it brought you.

    Like

  2. Thanks, Rose, for what you said about “O God, Why Did You Let Esther Die?”

    Like

Leave a Reply

