FAITHFULNESS

This past week, my husband and I debated on how to tackle a rather large project. We had very different ideas on how to achieve organization. Honestly, his idea seemed overwhelming to me, but he was willing to help, and so we did it his way. To my astonishment, we completed the task in a short amount of time and the job was done well and properly. I thought of my husband’s faithfulness and willingness to help me, in spite of my reluctance, and then I thought of how God has tried to teach me His ways which are better than mine. That night I felt strongly God wanted me to read Psalm 89. Those promptings don’t happen very often, so I paid attention and the scripture passage was definitely appropriate. The first verse caught my attention because I realized His love and faithfulness in my life, particularly with my finished project.

Psalms 89:1, 2 (NLT) says:  “I will sing of the Lord’s unfailing love forever! Young and old will hear of your faithfulness. Your unfailing love will last forever. Your faithfulness is as enduring as the heavens.

God knew us before we were born. He has been with each of us through all our earthly existence and one day we shall meet Him face to face in eternity.

Reflect on My Faithfulness

Reflect on the many times I have helped you during your lifetime,

for it is good, at times, to reflect on the past.

Tell your story to your children.

I love you,

and will always be with you.

Yes, I do know you love Me.

Thank you for taking this short time to tell Me.

Count your many blessings.

Understand and thank Me for answered prayer.

 Each morning as I journal, I am reminded of the many blessings He has given me:  His salvation, our children, a kind and generous husband, an education late in life (I was forty years old when I went back to school with a full tuition scholarship), a nonprofit counseling agency which grew to fifteen employees, and great friendships. There are so many blessings I truly can’t count them. God has always been faithful and loving, even through the times I didn’t realize His hand in my life.

About Rose Spillenaar Harmer

Rose is a retired marriage and family therapist and speaks on subjects related to prayer, spirituality, marriage and mental health. She travels throughout North America and one of her favorite subjects is "listening to God" through scripture, sermons and the still, inaudible voice of the Holy Spirit. She writes a weekly devotional called listeningtohear.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

