Are You Tired?

Have you ever had one of those days when you felt like crawling up into the Lord’s lap, curling up as a child, being comforted and cared for, resting from life’s weary journey?

We’ve probably all seen Bible Story books with pictures of Jesus surrounded by children, with a few on His lap. The pictures are based on a story in Mark where Jesus said: “Let the little children come to me, and do not hinder them, for the kingdom of God belongs to such as these…And he took the children in his arms, put his hands on them and blessed them.” (Mark 10:14-16 NIV)

Today was one such day for me as I battled fatigue and a small chest cold. During my devotions He said:

ENJOY MY LOVE

Today, we will take time to talk together,

for I have much to share with you.

I love you, My sweet child.

I want you to rest in My love, lean on My love,

and be helped by My love.

There isn’t any work for you today.

Try to enjoy whatever you can – especially my sunshine.

Always remember I love you.

Remembering He is Abba Father, Papa God, and that I can rest in His sublime presence is a wonderful realization in my life.

Rose Spillenaar Harmer

Rose Spillenaar Harmer

Rose is a retired Marriage and Family therapist who enjoys prayer journaling and speaking on the subject of listening to God. She and her husband travel extensively throughout North America half of the year and, in the winter months, reside in Cape Coral, Florida.

About Rose Spillenaar Harmer

Rose is a retired marriage and family therapist and speaks on subjects related to prayer, spirituality, marriage and mental health. She travels throughout North America and one of her favorite subjects is "listening to God" through scripture, sermons and the still, inaudible voice of the Holy Spirit. She writes a weekly devotional called listeningtohear.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Are You Tired?

  1. Jan says:

    It’s wonderful to lean into Him and rest. I believe He longs for us to come and be refreshed. We are taught to be self reliant by our parents when we need to be Jesus reliant.

    Like

  2. Marilyn says:

    Heard a story recently which expresses exactly where I want to be . . . .

    “A mother had been separated from her young child for a few days and when she got home she scooped him up in her arms. He wrapped his arms around her neck, laid his head on her shoulder, his whole body went limp and there he stayed.” I want to lay my head on Abba’s shoulder and let my body go limp with relaxation and trust.”
    Marilyn

    Like

  3. Bob Hunter says:

    Rose, another inspiring message and poem. Hopefully you took Jesus’ counsel to rest in him and that you’re now fully recovered from your fatigue and cold.

    Like

Leave a Reply

