Live Life with Thanks and Gratitude

While I was sitting in the morning waiting to “listen,” the words from an old song rang through my head: “This is the day that the Lord has made. Let us rejoice and be glad in it.”

Be Thankful

Let those words be your motto for today.

This day is for you, made for you.

Find my gifts in each moment, in each reflection.

See joy and peace and love and understanding,

because I have given those gifts abundantly.

Consider all the goodness in your life.

Learn to give Me thanks,

because as you find the little things to be thankful for,

your life will be filled with thankfulness and love.

As you give, so you receive.

Live in an attitude of gratitude

and you will be filled to overflowing with what is real and eternal.

Know you are very blessed.

When I listened to these words, I considered the many things for which I am grateful:

– Our Creator who made us intricately and wonderfully.

– Our beautiful world with a sun that warms us, flowers and trees of summertime and all  the beauty of nature we enjoy.

– Christ who came as a baby and experienced life much as we do. He was willing to give up His life for us to receive His salvation and an abundant life.

We are very blessed. Think of three things for which you are grateful, or if you like, write them down. Some of my friends keep a daily list that now numbers over a thousand gifts!

 Rose is a retired marriage and family therapist, living in Cape Coral, FL.

About Rose Spillenaar Harmer

Rose is a retired marriage and family therapist and speaks on subjects related to prayer, spirituality, marriage and mental health. She travels throughout North America and one of her favorite subjects is "listening to God" through scripture, sermons and the still, inaudible voice of the Holy Spirit. She writes a weekly devotional called listeningtohear.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Live Life with Thanks and Gratitude

  1. Jan says:

    I “shared” your message on facebook. I hope you get more people logging into your blog.
    I’m grateful for you!

    Like

  2. Bob Hunter says:

    Three of the many things that I’m thankful for besides the ones that you listed are:
    – My family and friends, especially the loving wife whom God brought into my life after over twenty years of my being a widower
    – My comfortable life, including my having my own home, sufficient income to meet my family’s and my needs, and good health
    – My having a good mind and a personal library, and the opportunities that God has opened up for me to use them in His service

    Like

  3. Rose Harmer says:

    God is good – all the time!

    Like

Leave a Reply

