GOD UNDERSTANDS

God, I don’t know of anyone on earth who went through the pain and agony of the cross. One of your disciples betrayed you to the religious leaders; another denied he even knew you when you were going through the greatest trial of your life. All deserted you when you were on the cross except a handful of women and John. Yet you were able to see past the pain of the crucifixion to redeem us.

Hebrews 12:2 “Let us fix our eyes on Jesus, the author and perfecter of our faith, who for the joy set before him endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God.”

Jesus, You are our example and we do not walk this journey without your help. When I listen He says:

I understand all the trials and problems you face.

I will never leave you or forsake you.

I care deeply because I love you.

Hebrew 4:14-15 says “…We have a great High Priest who has entered heaven, Jesus the Son of God…. This High Priest of ours understands our weaknesses, for he faced all of the same testings we do…”

I am thankful He knows us so well, gives us encouragement through each problem we face, and is able to see beyond the trial to the victory, the transformation and glory in our lives.

About Rose Spillenaar Harmer

Rose is a retired marriage and family therapist and speaks on subjects related to prayer, spirituality, marriage and mental health. She travels throughout North America and one of her favorite subjects is "listening to God" through scripture, sermons and the still, inaudible voice of the Holy Spirit. She writes a weekly devotional called listeningtohear.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to GOD UNDERSTANDS

  1. Bob Hunter says:

    “All deserted you when you were on the cross except a handful of women and John.” That Jesus felt that even the Father had deserted him is shown by his crying out, “My God, my God, why have you forsaken me?” Thus surely, as you’ve indicated, he understands how we feel as we face problems and feel abandoned. May we hear him say in those times: “I understand all the trials and problems you face. I will never leave you or forsake you. I care deeply because I love you.”

    Like

  2. Janis Cox says:

    Lovely words, Rose.
    As we “listen to hear” which is what we both try to do, I find it amazing how He shows us more of HImself.
    Blessings to you,
    Janis http://www.janiscox.com

    Like

  3. Allison says:

    Knowing God understands and will give us strength through every dark spot always give me hope.

    Like

Leave a Reply

