BE STILL

“Be still, and know that I am God”. Psalms 46:10

My child, my precious child,

yes, you need to be still long enough to understand My ways.

They are not difficult and do not require hard work.

However, people like you find it challenging to be still and listen.

While I was on earth, I spent many hours

 talking to the Father on the Judean hillsides

 which allowed Me to accept the limitations of my earthly body.

These times also helped Me agree to God’s timetable.

I want to lead you beside “still” waters – not moving waters.

There are no waterfalls and rushing streams.

Will you learn to be still?

In the stillness you let go of tension and pressure,

taking on quietness and peace,

setting your mind free of the endless list of tasks

which cause you to be heavy laden with burdens I did not give you.

This week learn to be still for one hour with Me,

and let me teach you My ways.

 Although I have spent many quiet times with God, this particular day, during the time set apart for the Lord I emptied the dishwasher, set the little robot vacuum to clean the living room, made a cup of tea and fixed something to eat. I then wondered why I was having a hard time envisioning God’s presence and hearing that still small voice. As usual, God was patient enough to tell me I needed to learn to simply wait in His presence.

In reading “Jesus Calling” by Sarah Young, she also wrote “Seek Me first and foremost, then the rest of your life will fall into place, piece by piece.” I trust you will find time with the Lord today.

Psalm 23: “The Lord is my Shepherd, I shall lack nothing. He makes me lie down in green pastures. He leads me beside still waters. He restores my soul.”

Rose Spillenaar Harmer listeningtohear.wordpress.com

Rose Spillenaar Harmer
listeningtohear.wordpress.com

 Rose is a retired marriage and family therapist, who resides in Cape Coral, Florida and also travels throughout the United States and Canada. She enjoys speaking on communication, marriage skills and also spiritual issues especially on how to listen to the still small voice of God.

About Rose Spillenaar Harmer

Rose is a retired marriage and family therapist and speaks on subjects related to prayer, spirituality, marriage and mental health. She travels throughout North America and one of her favorite subjects is "listening to God" through scripture, sermons and the still, inaudible voice of the Holy Spirit. She writes a weekly devotional called listeningtohear.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to BE STILL

  1. Bob Hunter says:

    A good message for me! One who always has to be busy in body and/or mind, I need to learn to simply wait in His presence.

    Like

  2. Jan says:

    This has always been a challenge for me. I’m not very good at sitting still.

    Like

Leave a Reply

