I Give Many Gifts

I Give Many Gifts

My child, do not be overly concerned about things that perish.

Trust in Me and I will show you My ways.

It is not difficult to trust and obey when you recall

how I have answered your prayers.

I have performed many miracles in your life.

You have experienced My healing touch personally

as well as in your loved ones’ lives.

You have seen Me provide over and over again.

I will give you one of the greatest gifts today

and that is peace of mind.

Take it and open it!

Simply enjoy these days with My gift of peace.

 John 14:27 (NLT): “I am leaving you with a gift – peace of mind and heart. And the peace I give is a gift the world cannot give. So do not be troubled or afraid.”

 When we focus our mind and attention on the things that perish, such as cars, houses, furniture and all our earthly possessions which take time and care, we often lose the peace God wants to give us.

However, I’m sure most of you recognize the many times God has provided what you needed. Sometimes, it is His healing touch.

Thirty years ago, I was sitting in a church service where the pastor was speaking about the sin of having idols in our lives. I was struggling with severe clinical depression and my girlfriend had suggested I attend this particular service. We were sitting close to the back of the church.

I recall saying to the Lord, “I don’t have any idols in my life!”

The still small voice spoke to my mind and said, “Oh yes, you do! You have set your husband up in My place. He comes first, not Me.

I recognized the truth and without hesitation said, “I did not know. Will you forgive me?”

Immediately I experienced a warm current flooding my body for the first and only time in my life! I turned to my friend and whispered, “I am healed!” She said she could see a light in my eyes which before had been clouded by depression.

It is so true, only Jesus can give us that peace of mind which can be ours day after day and year after year. We only need to receive it.

Rose Spillenaar Harmer is a retired marriage and family therapist.

Rose Spillenaar Harmer is a retired marriage and family therapist.

About Rose Spillenaar Harmer

Rose is a retired marriage and family therapist and speaks on subjects related to prayer, spirituality, marriage and mental health. She travels throughout North America and one of her favorite subjects is "listening to God" through scripture, sermons and the still, inaudible voice of the Holy Spirit. She writes a weekly devotional called listeningtohear.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Spirituality, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I Give Many Gifts

  1. Bob Hunter says:

    The peace that only Jesus can give is certainly worth having. Later in the same message to his disciples, Jesus told them that they could have that peace even when they were undergoing tribulation (John 16:33). As you pointed out, “we only need to receive it.”

    Like

Leave a Reply

