Are You a Vessel for Him?

In Jeremiah there is a passage which I often thought described my life, especially when I experienced some difficult challenges: “The Lord gave a message to Jeremiah. He said, ‘Go down to the potter’s shop, and I will speak to you there.’ So I did as he told me and found the potter working at his wheel. But the jar he was making did not turn out as he had hoped, so he crushed it into a lump of clay again and started over.” Jer. 18:1-6: (New Living Translation)

During the first part of my life I attended church very regularly, taught the beginner’s Sunday School class at the age of twelve, and read the Bible all the way through a number of times. I’ve been thankful I memorized some of the Word of God when I was young as I find it impossible to do at this age. Yet during a dark and dismal time when I was thirty, I had a profound experience of really knowing that Jesus loved me. Jesus cared very deeply about establishing a close relationship with me, which was new and life-giving.

Words cannot truly describe the daily loving words of comfort God wants to pour into our lives if we take the time to “listen” to Him, as the following words illustrate:

 You Are a Vessel

You have been broken and shattered.

I am making you into a vessel I can use.

This week be a cup to hold cold water

  – refreshing, sparkling and clean.

Water quenches the thirsty man.

All who drink water will find temporary satiation of their thirst.

If they find their way to Me, I will give them Living Water.

Walk in My goodness and above all,

 remember I love you.

 Years ago, Darlene Betzer wrote a song which has always touched my heart and stirs within me a desire to be His vessel.

“A vessel of honor for God,

A vessel of honor for God.

Sanctified, holy, so let me be.

A vessel of honor for God.”

 This is my desire and I trust it will be yours today! We are His vessels here on earth.

The Potter

Rose Spillenaar Harmer listeningtohear.wordpress.com

Rose Spillenaar Harmer
listeningtohear.wordpress.com

About Rose Spillenaar Harmer

Rose is a retired marriage and family therapist and speaks on subjects related to prayer, spirituality, marriage and mental health. She travels throughout North America and one of her favorite subjects is "listening to God" through scripture, sermons and the still, inaudible voice of the Holy Spirit. She writes a weekly devotional called listeningtohear.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Are You a Vessel for Him?

  1. Bob Hunter says:

    Rose, I can relate to what you shared about yourself in “Are You a Vessel for Him?” as I did the same kind of things as you described doing when I was young but later came to really know that Jesus loved me. And, like you, I desire to be a vessel of honor for Him. Thanks for another encouraging meditation.

    Like

  2. Jan says:

    Yes! And may I not complain too much when something in me is being broken in order to be reshaped by the Master Potter. Let me rest in the knowledge that his loving hands are shaping me into his own image.

    Like

Leave a Reply

