Different Personalities

As I was reflecting in my prayer life, wondering where I fit into God’s plan, this is what I heard:

It takes many different personalities to be My hands, feet, mouth and ears on earth. I use  people with a variety of talents, qualities and callings to accomplish My will.

 Some are called to care for mentally and physically challenged children. Others are called to travel to distant parts of the world and minister to many cultures. Some minister to the incarcerated; others physically build churches and schools. All show My love and care to a lost and dying world.

 Those are special callings. Yet, most people live quiet lives, obscure to most people. I worked as a carpenter in my dad’s dusty wood shop for many years. I was living as God told me to live, anonymously. I fulfilled that part of my mission. Do whatever is in front of you, remembering always I will help you and love you. Be willing to share the story that I came, died and rose again to give everyone who believes, life in Me.

 I love to see My people working together showing love, compassion and care to others.

 I Corinthians 12:12, 14, 18 (New International Version) “The body is a unit, though it is made up of many parts; and though all its parts are many, they form one body. So it is with Christ. (14) Now the body is not made up of one part but of many. (18) But in fact God has arranged the parts in the body, every one of them, just as he wanted them to be.”

 Recently we had a get-together for forty people. I realized those in our family played different parts and together accomplished our goal of a very delightful gathering. One was an organizer and drew up the invitation and made lists of things to do. Another was more social and did the calling, and then we had people who did much of the work the others could not accomplish on their own. It is wonderful that God blesses us all with different talents and gifts as we work together as a unit to accomplish His work.

                 

About Rose Spillenaar Harmer

Rose is a retired marriage and family therapist and speaks on subjects related to prayer, spirituality, marriage and mental health. She travels throughout North America and one of her favorite subjects is "listening to God" through scripture, sermons and the still, inaudible voice of the Holy Spirit. She writes a weekly devotional called listeningtohear.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Different Personalities

  1. Bob Hunter says:

    Good message on one of my favourite passages of Scripture, Rose. Another favourite passage of mine with a similar message is Ephesians 4:11-12, “And he gave the apostles, the prophets, the evangelists, the shepherds and teachers, to equip the work of ministry, for the building up of the body of Christ” (ESV).

    I’ve often thought along the same lines about the Life group that Leonora and I attend as you realized about the family get-together you described. We contribute to our meetings in different ways, but we’re all important to them.

    Like

Leave a Reply

