My Ways are Higher than Yours

Challenged by my family to take a day of rest, I opened one of my devotionals “Jesus Calling” to read “Rest in Me, My weary one, for this is a form of worship.”  It was a reading for October l by Sarah Young and just what I needed for this day. She used the familiar scripture found in Matthew 11:28 about coming to Him and He will give us rest.

Too many times, as a reader said last week, we make God’s will complicated and He simply wants us to rest in His presence.  I felt refreshed and energized and learned truths which I did not know prior to this day. When we are still, He can teach us.

I enjoyed the yellow breasted warbler perched on the lovely tree outside our window. We see the beauty in the migrating orange monarch butterflies and are astonished at their long flights across the waters to South America. Resting from the computer and unnecessary tasks for a day gives us opportunities to enjoy the Lord and see all the wonderful things He has given us.

My ways are higher

About Rose Spillenaar Harmer

Rose is a retired marriage and family therapist and speaks on subjects related to prayer, spirituality, marriage and mental health. She travels throughout North America and one of her favorite subjects is "listening to God" through scripture, sermons and the still, inaudible voice of the Holy Spirit. She writes a weekly devotional called listeningtohear.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Devotional, Spirituality, Listening to God, Sarah Young in Jesus Calling. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Ways are Higher than Yours

  1. Bob Hunter says:

    Matthew 11:28 “Come to me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest,” is certainly good advice. We all need to withdraw from our everyday concerns sometimes and just rest in the Lord.

    I’m glad, Rose, that you enjoyed the day of rest that your family encouraged you to take and I hope that you’ll take and enjoy many more such days.

    I also like what Jesus went on to say, “Take my yoke upon you, and learn from me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.”

    Like

Leave a Reply

