Changed Lives

Although I am changing you day by day and hour by hour,

you will not have complete victory in a fallen world.

Old traits and habits take years to change.

Even Paul said he did things he didn’t want to do

and left undone many good things.

I only ask your spirit be yielded to Me and others in love.

Allow Me to be the focus of your life.

You will reap the benefits of a changed life.

Sometimes, we get impatient with the process especially as we live with all the tensions and turmoil of everyday life. Personally, when I am blamed for a situation I get defensive – it is an old trait – and I often answer back, instead of calming down internally and allowing the other person to know I have heard and am considering their complaint.

Frequently, I discover my written devotional time gets missed for a couple days, yet I know that only as I spend time with the Master, will I be changed. God said to bring everything to Him: our disappointments, our anger and our confusion, and He will help us.

Philippians 4:6 (NIV) Do not be anxious about anything, but in EVERYTHING, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. (7) And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and minds in Christ Jesus.”

There is an old hymn we used to sing:

“Oh what peace we often forfeit, oh what needless pain we bear

All because we do not carry everything to God in prayer.”

 I want to be changed, do you?

 

About Rose Spillenaar Harmer

Rose is a retired marriage and family therapist and speaks on subjects related to prayer, spirituality, marriage and mental health. She travels throughout North America and one of her favorite subjects is "listening to God" through scripture, sermons and the still, inaudible voice of the Holy Spirit. She writes a weekly devotional called listeningtohear.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in 7, Devotional, Spirituality, Listening to God, Purposeful Living and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Changed Lives

  1. Bob Hunter says:

    “Even Paul said he did things he didn’t want to do and left undone many good things.” I can identify by experience with Paul’s description in Romans 7:13-25 of the struggle that the Christian has to do what is right and to abstain from what is wrong.

    “Personally, when I am blamed for a situation I get defensive – it is an old trait – and I often answer back, instead of calming down internally and allowing the other person to know I have heard and am considering their complaint.” I often do the same thing and feel guilty about it afterwards.

    “God said to bring everything to Him: our disappointments, our anger and our confusion, and He will help us.” Good advice!”

    ” I want to be changed, do you?” Yes, I do.

    Like

Leave a Reply

