A Slow and Steady Progress

If I can use a young lad to throw stones at a giant

and cause the battle tide to turn.

If I can use a talking donkey to get a prophet’s attention,

why do you doubt I can use you?

Work a little each day, not giving up

 but clearly plodding towards the goals

 you feel come from me.

Do you often wonder what God’s will is for your life? I think we all do at times. Did Noah have doubts as he labored for years and years building the ark and preaching of impending disaster; yet no one began to believe in God or that He would bring the flood?

Times of discouragement and doubt can be changed when we read His Word and pray.

Psalms 23:3 (NLT) He renews my strength. He guides me along right paths, bringing honor to his name.

 I recall an article which said if I simply schedule some time and write each day, I can accomplish my goal of writing. Like the fable of the tortoise and the hare, steadily plodding towards the target will accomplish our purpose. This applies in every aspect of our lives, whether we try to lose weight or go back to school to learn. Day by day we take another step, praying for God’s help and direction.

 

About Rose Spillenaar Harmer

Rose is a retired marriage and family therapist and speaks on subjects related to prayer, spirituality, marriage and mental health. She travels throughout North America and one of her favorite subjects is "listening to God" through scripture, sermons and the still, inaudible voice of the Holy Spirit. She writes a weekly devotional called listeningtohear.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Devotional, Spirituality, Listening to God, Noah, Psalms 23:3, Tortoise and the hare and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Slow and Steady Progress

  1. Bob Hunter says:

    “Do you often wonder what God’s will is for your life?” Yes, I often (or at least sometimes) wonder what God’s will is for the rest of my life.

    “Day by day we take another step, praying for God’s help and direction.” Good advice.

    Like

  2. Thank you Bob. It’s good advice and I want to learn just to live day by day – not trying to look too far into the future!

    Like

Leave a Reply

