My Ways Are Different

My child, my precious child, I love you.

When you read old prayer journals, you see where you have been

and where you are today in your walk with Me.

I came to show you a better way.

My ways are different than yours.

I do not work with clocks and timetables.

While on earth, I asked the Father what he would have me do

and I obeyed His will.

Obey Me and I will work in and through you.

When I decided to condense my devotionals, I reread my journals from the past thirty years. How enlightening to see the differences God has made as I have grown older, not only in years but also in understanding.

Throughout scripture we read many times where Jesus mentions that He only does what the Father says.  In John 12:49-50 (NLT) Jesus says, “I don’t speak on my own authority. The Father who sent me has commanded me what to say and how to say it, And I know his commands lead to eternal life; so I say whatever the Father tells me to say.”

 Would it not be wonderful to live as Christ lived on earth and only do and say the things that God would have us speak and do? Time with the Lord is very precious, I pray to learn to be the person God sees in me.

About Rose Spillenaar Harmer

Rose is a retired marriage and family therapist and speaks on subjects related to prayer, spirituality, marriage and mental health. She travels throughout North America and one of her favorite subjects is "listening to God" through scripture, sermons and the still, inaudible voice of the Holy Spirit. She writes a weekly devotional called listeningtohear.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Devotional, Spirituality, Listening to God, Time and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Ways Are Different

  1. Bob Hunter says:

    “Would it not be wonderful to live as Christ lived on earth and only do and say the things that God would have us speak and do?” It certainly would.

    “I do not work with clocks and timetables.” Although Jesus may not have worked with clocks and timetables, I don’t think that he did things haphazardly either.

    Like

    • Rose Spillenaar Harmer says:

      Bob, I think the Father and Jesus do everything in a heavenly order which is so very different from our earthly perspective. Thanks for commenting. Rose

      Like

Leave a Reply

