Have You Learned the Rhythms of Grace?

My child, rest today!

Always come to Me with your heavy burdens

and I will show you how to truly rest.

Learn my unforced rhythms of grace.

Keep company with Me and you’ll learn to live freely and lightly.

Spend time at my feet as Mary did

and you will learn that my yoke is easy and my burden light.

Matthew 11:28-30 (NLT) “Then Jesus said, ‘Come to me, all you who are weary and carry heavy burdens, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you. Let me teach you, because I am humble and gentle at heart, and you will find rest for your souls (minds). For my yoke is easy to bear and the burden I give you is light.”

 I had thought I was learning to rest in Him. Yet, as Christmas draws near there is always  much to do which takes me away from the source of my strength and joy. God’s way is the better path to take and the unforced rhythms of grace I aspire to learn.

 

About Rose Spillenaar Harmer

Rose is a retired marriage and family therapist and speaks on subjects related to prayer, spirituality, marriage and mental health. She travels throughout North America and one of her favorite subjects is "listening to God" through scripture, sermons and the still, inaudible voice of the Holy Spirit. She writes a weekly devotional called listeningtohear.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Devotional, Spirituality, Listening to God, Folowing Jesus, Jesus Cares and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Have You Learned the Rhythms of Grace?

  1. Hi,

    Today was definitely more of a Martha day than a Mary day! Yet, how much more of eternal value would have been accomplished if time had been taken to simply commune with God?

    Sandy

    _____

    Like

  2. Rose Spillenaar Harmer says:

    Thanks Sandy. Yes, I know how sweet it was to spend time with Him today. He answered a lot of prayers. Rose

    Like

  3. Bob Hunter says:

    Marry Christmas, Rose, to Bob and you. I hope that you’ll get time to spend at Jesus’ feet as Mary did along with enjoying the various Christmas activities.

    Like

Leave a Reply

