Read My Word

My child, I love you!

Learn of Me by listening and reading the scriptures.

You accept by faith that I was born,

lived, died for you and rose again!

I sent you another Comforter, the Holy Spirit,

who leads you into all truth.

Accept My Word which is a lamp for your feet

And a light for your path!

Psalms 119:105 (NIV) “Your word is a lamp to my feet and a light for my path.”

Your Word by abcdz2000

This year I re-read an old book by Evelyn Christenson entitled “Lord, Change Me!”

I was fascinated with the process of “listening” to God more closely as I read and obtain more specific instructions as to how God wants to change me.

In a recent post I talked about the “rhythms of grace” which I wished to learn.  As I spend time reading and writing out God’s directions from His Word, it seems I am changing slowly. Hopefully my future posts will reflect some of these changes as I learn from the Author of Peace.

About Rose Spillenaar Harmer

Rose is a retired marriage and family therapist and speaks on subjects related to prayer, spirituality, marriage and mental health. She travels throughout North America and one of her favorite subjects is "listening to God" through scripture, sermons and the still, inaudible voice of the Holy Spirit. She writes a weekly devotional called listeningtohear.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Devotional, Spirituality, Listening to God, Folowing Jesus, Jesus Cares and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Read My Word

  1. Bob Hunter says:

    I spend a lot of time reading and studying God’s Word. My prayer is like the hope that you expressed, Rose, that I will hear God as I read it and will change to be more like He wants me to be.

    Like

Leave a Reply

