Accentuate the Positive

Some time ago I was going through a small dark valley and in “listening” to that still small voice, I heard in my heart the following:

My child, when you constantly dwell on the negative things in life,
you will naturally become depressed.
You can choose to count your blessings or you can wallow in self-pity.
It is your choice!
I came to set you free.
I want to show you the ways of love.
Will you, like Paul say “Forgetting the past I press on?”
He had far more things to regret than you do.
His life could have been one of defeat.
Yet, by my grace, he did not dwell on his former life.
And was able to teach many about the truths of life-freeing,
guilt-quenching grace.
Love does cover a multitude of sins.
Learn to love as I have loved you.

PHIL 3:13,14 (NIV) …One thing I do: Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead. I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus.

The title for this devotional comes from a popular song of the 40’s and 50’s.
“Accentuate the positive,
Eliminate the negative,
Latch on to the affirmative
And don’t mess with Mr. In Between!”

It seems to illustrate the scripture very well and can bring a smile to the face of some of us old-timers who recall listening to those words.  And for those who never heard it, Here’s a link to a great rendition!

The Andrew Sisters & Bing Crosby-Accentuate The Positive – YouTube.

About Rose Spillenaar Harmer

Rose is a retired marriage and family therapist and speaks on subjects related to prayer, spirituality, marriage and mental health. She travels throughout North America and one of her favorite subjects is "listening to God" through scripture, sermons and the still, inaudible voice of the Holy Spirit. She writes a weekly devotional called listeningtohear.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Devotional, Spirituality, Listening to God, Trust and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Accentuate the Positive

  1. Marilyn says:

    Hi Rose
    Your post is right where I am at – where are my thoughts, on the positive or the negative?
    Thank you so much for the link to Bing and the Girls. The song took me back to the good old days as I sang along with them. Haven’t heard Accentuate the Positive for years.

    Like

Leave a Reply

