Be Content

My child, I love you and yes, I want to help.
My Word says that ‘godliness with contentment is great gain.’
Trust in Me…
You have told Me the desires of your heart.
I know it seems My walk is a difficult pathway.
There are mountains to climb.
Sometimes, tears dim your eyes and you stumble over rocks along the way.
Remember, however, I am with you always.
I do give my angels to guard you as well.
Although the trail is rough and, at times, there are not many fellow travelers,
Yet, one day, we will welcome you home!

Psalms 91:11,12 (NLT) “For he will order his angels to protect you wherever you go. They will hold you up with their hands so you won’t even hurt your foot on a stone.”

Scapegoat by Immagina
Scapegoat, a photo by Immagina on Flickr.

I am very thankful to the Lord for His Word and Holy Spirit which comforts us each day as we struggle with difficulties.  As I reread this portion I thought of Hannah Hurnard’s book “Hind’s Feet on High Places”.  It is an allegory which illustrates our walk with our loving Good Shepherd. Too often I complain, yet I realize those tests and trials help change me as I take the time to wait in His Presence.

.



 

About Rose Spillenaar Harmer

Rose is a retired marriage and family therapist and speaks on subjects related to prayer, spirituality, marriage and mental health. She travels throughout North America and one of her favorite subjects is "listening to God" through scripture, sermons and the still, inaudible voice of the Holy Spirit. She writes a weekly devotional called listeningtohear.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in 12, Devotional, Spirituality, Listening to God and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

