My Ways

My child, you discover my will day by day!
I have shown you my ways are much slower than yours.
However, the results of doing my will last longer.
Although it has taken many years
for you to accomplish some things,

As you look back, you remark “time has flown by.”
You have plenty of time for me
to make and mold you after my will

because you are learning the art of being still.
You are yielded and have asked to learn my ways.

In this passage it seems the Lord is encouraging me to keep learning the wonderful discipline of quiet time with Him. It is much too easy to allow other things to crowd out this blessed time when I read His Word and listen to the Voice of the Holy Spirit speaking to my mind and heart.

There is a story in Matthew 25:1-13 which speaks of the ten bridesmaids (or in KJV the ten virgins) who needed oil in their lamps when the bridegroom (Jesus) was to come for them. Only five were ready with extra oil in their lamps. I believe the Lord is speaking to me in the passage Matt 25:13 (NLT) saying “So you, too, must keep watch! For you do not know the day or hour of my return.”

“Watch” means to obey God’s word, be thinking of his soon return and spend time with Him daily to be filled with His Spirit and discover His will. I want to be ready for his return.

 

About Rose Spillenaar Harmer

Rose is a retired marriage and family therapist and speaks on subjects related to prayer, spirituality, marriage and mental health. She travels throughout North America and one of her favorite subjects is "listening to God" through scripture, sermons and the still, inaudible voice of the Holy Spirit. She writes a weekly devotional called listeningtohear.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Be Ready, Christ's Return, Devotional, Spirituality, Listening to God, Matt:25:1-13, Ten Bridesmaids and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

