Occupy until I Return

As the sun comes up in the morning,
meditate on my faithfulness.
I know at times, you long for the day
when all my loved ones are gathered home.
Yet, I have requested you to “occupy” until I return.
Use the talents and abilities I have given you
to tell others of my love.
Darkness and night are soon approaching.
Many people have not heard
of the great love I have for them.
Even religious people have not been taught
I desire to love them personally.
I want to sit at their tables while they enjoy their meals.
However, too few are conscious
of my presence in their lives.
I want to communicate with all my children daily
because I love them.

 Luke 19:13 (KJV) “Occupy until I come.”

When I was growing up, that scripture was mentioned many times in sermons. Paul talks about being involved in the King’s business in Romans 13 when he asks us to consider the times in which we live.

Last May, we were in the midst of a project of Maps-RV at a Christian camp in Michigan and my brother had come from Ontario to visit. One Sunday he attended a different church and was invited out for the May holiday afternoon and dinner and they suggested we come too. Although they were friends of my parents and brother, they included us in their gift of hospitality and we thoroughly enjoyed their love and care.

We all have gifts we can use for the Lord! My brother plays for a nursing home once a week, my sister serves as a chaplain in a jail two days a week and my husband volunteers his services as a plumber for a month or so once a year. When we spend time with the Lord, I believe He shows us what He would like us to do before He comes to take us home to be with Him eternally.

About Rose Spillenaar Harmer

Rose is a retired marriage and family therapist and speaks on subjects related to prayer, spirituality, marriage and mental health. She travels throughout North America and one of her favorite subjects is "listening to God" through scripture, sermons and the still, inaudible voice of the Holy Spirit. She writes a weekly devotional called listeningtohear.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Devotional, Spirituality, Listening to God, Gifts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Occupy until I Return

  1. Bob Hunter says:

    “I have requested you to “occupy” until I return. Use the talents and abilities I have given you to tell others of my love…. When we spend time with the Lord, I believe He shows us what He would like us to do before He comes to take us home to be with Him eternally.”

    Recently the Life group that I’d served as the “teacher” in for the past two years held what will likely be its last meeting because new regulations for our church’s Life groups may keep its host and hostess from continuing to host it. Thus I’m looking to God to show me what He would like me to do to minister for Him in the future.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Occupy until I Return | Occupy Wall Street by Platlee

Leave a Reply

