My Commands are Helpful!

As you sit and ponder my living Word,
it lights your pathway

in a world with many dark and evil temptations.
The race is not won by the most talented or the swiftest,
It is won by those who live by My Word
and keep My commandments.

Solomon started well by asking for wisdom.
He ended poorly because he strayed
and disregarded My commands

My commands help you live a better and holy life!

Psalms 119:105 (NIV) “Your word is a lamp to my feet and a light for my path.”

Often as we sit with our Bibles, we are delighted with new and astonishing promises.  This is especially true if we read an unfamiliar translation. God reminds us daily how much He loves us and cares for all the details of our lives.

We are probably all aware of the familiar story of Solomon, who started off very well.  Yet later, he married many heathen women who were not brought up to respect the God of Israel. He even went to the extreme compromise by building temples to worship strange gods in the land God had set apart for the Israelites.

Even Paul in 1 Corinthians 9:24-27 warns us to heed God’s laws each day in our lives so that we might win the prize of that eternal life with the Lord. I know in my own life it is the times I spend talking with others about His love or letting the scriptures sink deeply into my heart and soul that I am strengthened and refreshed.

 

About Rose Spillenaar Harmer

Rose is a retired marriage and family therapist and speaks on subjects related to prayer, spirituality, marriage and mental health. She travels throughout North America and one of her favorite subjects is "listening to God" through scripture, sermons and the still, inaudible voice of the Holy Spirit. She writes a weekly devotional called listeningtohear.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in 1 Corinthians, 1 Corinthians 009, Bible, Devotional, Spirituality, Listening to God, New Testament, Old Testament, Ps. 119:105, Psalms, Psalms 119, Solomon and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

