Learn from the Past

Learn from both the good and bad experiences of life.
There are lessons which cannot be learned any other way.
However, I have promised things will turn out
for your ultimate good.

Many times the challenges of life
are difficult passages to travel

prior to seeing the sunshine on the other side.
David expressed this principle well when he penned the
Psalms under my inspiration.
The Twenty-third Psalm says
“Yea though you walk through the valley

Of the shadow of death, I will be with you!”
I will always be with you
though at times you do not feel my presence.

This is your hope and gives you faith and peace.

Romans 8:28 (NIV) “For we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.”

There are many lessons we must learn from the past or we are bound to repeat them. I recall professors in history with the same admonition. Part of the problem in our country is that we refuse to see the decline of large civilizations in the past and realize the same things are happening in our land.

As I ponder my own past, I see some tragedies could have been averted. Others happened as the result of being in the wrong place at the wrong time. Yet, I see where God’s hand has led me to healing and to usefulness in helping others.

About Rose Spillenaar Harmer

Rose is a retired marriage and family therapist and speaks on subjects related to prayer, spirituality, marriage and mental health. She travels throughout North America and one of her favorite subjects is "listening to God" through scripture, sermons and the still, inaudible voice of the Holy Spirit. She writes a weekly devotional called listeningtohear.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Bible, Devotional, Spirituality, Listening to God, New Testament, Romans, Romans 008 and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Learn from the Past

  1. Bob Hunter says:

    Although I appreciated your entire post, Rose, I’ll comment on just its closing paragraph.

    “As I ponder my own past, I see some tragedies could have been averted. Others happened as the result of being in the wrong place at the wrong time. Yet, I see where God’s hand has led me to healing and to usefulness in helping others.”

    As I’ve pondered my past, I’ve also seen tragedies that could have been averted and ones that happened because I was in the wrong place at the wrong time. I appreciate the way that God has worked all things out to the good for me, and I hope that God will enable me to help others more because of what I’ve experienced.

    Like

  2. Thanks Bob. I like how you phrased your comment. I guess I was thinking of my years of being a therapist and how that made me change and grow and learn acceptance. Thanks for everything Rose

    Like

Leave a Reply

