Perspective

My child, my child, allow yourself to relax.
Do not sweat the little things!
Material goods, daily routines and schedules
are not that important.

You need to put things into perspective.
Allow my love to show you priorities.
I simply listened and obeyed my Father.
I did not rush about without purpose.
The crowds followed me; I did not seek them.
I did not call for meetings.
Everything: my steps, my disciples,
yes, even Judas was necessary.

Ask me what I would have you do.
I love you!

As I pondered the words the Holy Spirit had given to me, I realized one of the most difficult things for me to do is to relax. I seem to have an inner voice always prompting me to do more tasks.

As I was praying for the Lord to show me what He would have me do, He brought to my mind a book called “Anonymous”.  Jesus waited thirty years before He began to minister.  This lasted only a very brief three years and then He was crucified. Sometimes, when Satan can’t get us to commit grave sins, he does entice us to keep too busy, and neglect time to earnestly ask the Lord what He would have us do. Perhaps He wishes us to sit quietly in His presence until we are filled with joyous strength and well-being from Him. My scripture for today is one that is very familiar to me in the old King James Version. This is from a paraphrase.

Matthew 11:28-30 (The Message) “Are you tired? Worn out? Burned out on religion? Come to me. Get away with me and you’ll recover your life. I’ll show you how to take a real rest. Walk with me and work with me – watch how I do it. Learn the unforced rhythms of grace. I won’t lay anything heavy or ill-fitting on you. Keep company with me and you’ll learn to live freely and lightly.”

About Rose Spillenaar Harmer

Rose is a retired marriage and family therapist and speaks on subjects related to prayer, spirituality, marriage and mental health. She travels throughout North America and one of her favorite subjects is "listening to God" through scripture, sermons and the still, inaudible voice of the Holy Spirit. She writes a weekly devotional called listeningtohear.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Bible, Devotional, Spirituality, Listening to God, Matthew, New Testament and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

