I Have Helped You

My child, I have helped you many times,
In turn, sometimes you have
represented Me in helping others.
I have given you the gift of enjoying other people.
Sometimes you do things for the wrong motives.
But many times you are instrumental
in showing My love and
My truth to others.
I wish all people would
know Me and share with others.
However, to follow in My footsteps
is often a difficult and lonely journey.
I went about doing good.
I heard the cries of needy people.
Hear them and respond to them!

 As I mentioned in an earlier post, I tried to deliberately rest and be conscious of the Lord’s presence this week. His message to me seemed to say that relationships are most important to Him. Often I take my friendships for granted but I want to care more deeply and take the necessary time to cultivate those relationships. I want to be available to people.

 Luke 15:12 (NIV) “My command is this:
Love each other as I have loved you.”

About Rose Spillenaar Harmer

Rose is a retired marriage and family therapist and speaks on subjects related to prayer, spirituality, marriage and mental health. She travels throughout North America and one of her favorite subjects is "listening to God" through scripture, sermons and the still, inaudible voice of the Holy Spirit. She writes a weekly devotional called listeningtohear.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Bible, Devotional, Spirituality, Listening to God, Luke, New Testament, Relationships and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I Have Helped You

  1. Shelley Giles says:

    Thank you Rose for a reminder to me on how important building and maintaining relationship is. Taking time is so important! Keep up the good work.

    Like

Leave a Reply

