Do You Get Angry?

Recently my husband was upset with me about my paper accumulation! And, as an aside, his irritation may be justified, although I do try! Unfortunately, when I am criticized, I don’t respond well or express my point of view easily. Usually I turn the anger inward, get depressed, lose sleep and am slightly irritable.

When I did my personal devotions and listened to the Holy Spirit, he seemed to be saying the following:

In every marriage or relationship there are difficulties.
Some problems are very serious
and others are learning lessons.

Yes, you must learn to forgive quickly!
You see the damage it does
to your health and well-being when you don’t.

You don’t have a productive anger and can’t sleep.
I said, “Be angry and sin not.”
“Don’t let the sun go down on your wrath.”
These are useful tools if you will put them into practice.
Do learn to talk calmly.
You might say
“The message I received is one that you are angry with me.”

Actually the next morning when we were doing our couple devotions, I obeyed the Lord and He gave me the courage to talk about the difficulty and I am happy to report it is resolved. My husband tries to help me by putting away some of our ‘stuff’ and I try to keep paper to a minimum. It feels much better to work things out together and be at peace.

Ephesians 4:26 (NIV): “In your anger do not sin. Do not let the sun go down while you are still angry.”
Psalms 4:4; Psalm 37:8; Proverbs 15:1; Proverbs 27:4

About Rose Spillenaar Harmer

Rose is a retired marriage and family therapist and speaks on subjects related to prayer, spirituality, marriage and mental health. She travels throughout North America and one of her favorite subjects is "listening to God" through scripture, sermons and the still, inaudible voice of the Holy Spirit. She writes a weekly devotional called listeningtohear.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Bible, Devotional, Spirituality, Listening to God, Ephesians, New Testament, Old Testament, Proverbs, Proverbs 015, Proverbs 027, Psalms, Psalms 004, Psalms 037 and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

