Divine Appointments

Opportunities come and go.
Divine appointments are what I want you to take.
The meeting with your neighbor was not happenstance.
It was a divine appointment.
I want to remind you to pray for him
that he would know and love Me.
You are learning what is important in my kingdom.
As I learned, while on earth,
my occupation as a carpenter was
important until I was thirty.
Then I began to minister to many people.
Day by day, I learned
what my Father wanted to accomplish.
I did his will not my own.
I want you to pray your life be yielded in the same way.
Then I can use you to grow my kingdom.

 There is an old hymn that says: “Take my life and let it be consecrated Lord to thee.”

In Matthew 11:42 (NIV) Jesus said, “And if anyone gives even a cup of cold water to one of these little ones, because he is my disciple, I tell you the truth, he will certainly not lose his reward”.

Recently, in our campground, there was a young man who was obviously in need. Looking for a job, living in a tent, with no cooler to keep food cold, without transportation. Although he refused to eat a meal with us, he later came to our RV door, asking merely for a cup of cold water with ice.

As he relaxed in the air conditioning and drank his water, my husband shared his miracle and the value of Christ in our lives. We pray the heritage his mother, who attended a Baptist Church, gave him as a child will grow and blossom. His dad had left when he was only five years old and there were nine hungry mouths to feed. I’m sure his mother called on God many times to meet their needs.

About Rose Spillenaar Harmer

Rose is a retired marriage and family therapist and speaks on subjects related to prayer, spirituality, marriage and mental health. She travels throughout North America and one of her favorite subjects is "listening to God" through scripture, sermons and the still, inaudible voice of the Holy Spirit. She writes a weekly devotional called listeningtohear.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Bible, Devotional, Spirituality, Listening to God, Matthew, New Testament and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

