Were They Wasted Years?

I am faithful regarding my promises to you!
As you see the sun rise each morning
in all its splendor and glory,
so my kingdom has the same radiance and magnificence.
Yes, I will restore the years which seem wasted.
For nothing is truly wasted
when you share my help with others.
Remember, when everything looks dark, I am always here.
I realize you have a difficult day ahead of you.
I will be with you each step you take.
Trust me and do not be afraid.

Joel 2:25 (KJV) Joel 2:25 “And I will restore to you the years that the locust hath eaten…”

Romans 8:28 (KJV) “And we know that all things work together for good to them that love God, to them who are called according to his purpose.”

Have any of you wondered why bad things happen to people? I often thought about the many years that seemed fruitless in my own life. Yet, when looking back I see how God has healed and truly restored those parts which appeared wasted. When we are “called” for God’s purposes everything we experience is useful to Him, though we may never know what was accomplished until eternity.

Truly I believe I was a better counselor because I understood some of the pain which my clients had and were able to work through. God is astonishing in the fact He truly can work out those hard things for good.

About Rose Spillenaar Harmer

Rose is a retired marriage and family therapist and speaks on subjects related to prayer, spirituality, marriage and mental health. She travels throughout North America and one of her favorite subjects is "listening to God" through scripture, sermons and the still, inaudible voice of the Holy Spirit. She writes a weekly devotional called listeningtohear.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Bible, Joel, Joel 002, New Testament, Old Testament, Romans, Romans 008 and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

