Leave the Old Ways

I have many principles in My Word.
Recognize there may be little choices
which need to be changed.
My road is narrow and often the way is not easy.
But, there is also great joy!
Joy comes from accomplishing the work I have given you.
After I left this visible world,
my disciples were filled with power.
No longer were they torn between
their old lives and new ones.
They now had a sense of purpose and direction to follow.
I have many who set their gaze on Me
and follow the narrow path.
They accomplish much throughout their lives.
Some carry out my will in very quiet ways
with their kind words
and smiles which reflect my love.
Others achieve much by doing their daily work 
well
without 
complaining but with great love
for Me and others.

This fall I came across an old book entitled “God Owns My Business” by Stanley Tam who owned a business on I-75 going south near Lima, Ohio. On the exterior of the plant, it says “Christ is the Answer”. It is a very outstanding story.

I am quoting from page 118 “Stewardship is more than money. It is obedience, constant listening for that quiet voice of divine guidance sure to be heard when we follow the precedent of the Word of God which says: So whether you eat or drink or whatever you do, do it all for the glory of God. 1 Corinthians 10:31.”

Mr. Tam learned to obey in small as well as big ways and carried out God’s will for his life. I want to do the same.

About Rose Spillenaar Harmer

Rose is a retired marriage and family therapist and speaks on subjects related to prayer, spirituality, marriage and mental health. She travels throughout North America and one of her favorite subjects is "listening to God" through scripture, sermons and the still, inaudible voice of the Holy Spirit. She writes a weekly devotional called listeningtohear.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in 1 Corinthians, 1 Corinthians 010, Bible, New Testament and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

