The Time is Short

I want to tell you some things you may not understand.
However, do not fear, you will not go through them.
I want you to be eager to seek my face
for the people around you
who still do not know Me in my fullness.
The time is short; calamity is going to come.
Your country has enjoyed
a high standard of living for many years
which will shortly come to an end.
No one will know how to deal with
the reality of poverty and hardship.
My people will be caught up to meet Me in the air.
However the cries of those who have never heard of my love
ring in my ears as that day approaches.
Keep your mind fixed on Me.

Revelation 22:20 (NIV) “He who testifies to these things says, ‘Yes, I am coming soon.’ Amen. Come, Lord Jesus.”

On our travels this year, we have met more fellow believers, who, like us, believe Jesus will return very soon. There is an excitement which to me seems almost unprecedented. Fifty years ago, I recall many services which included a call to be ready to meet Him in the air. One song was:

“I want to be ready, I do, when He comes for the faithful and true.
Those whose garments are white, and whose lamps all burn bright.
Oh I want to be ready, don’t you?”

He has quickened in me a longing for His return as well as a desire to pray for people to come and receive Him as their Savior. On Wednesday night, our church had a baptismal service where many older people said they had wandered from the faith but had come back and asked Him to be their Lord and Master.

About Rose Spillenaar Harmer

Rose is a retired marriage and family therapist and speaks on subjects related to prayer, spirituality, marriage and mental health. She travels throughout North America and one of her favorite subjects is "listening to God" through scripture, sermons and the still, inaudible voice of the Holy Spirit. She writes a weekly devotional called listeningtohear.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Devotional, Spirituality, Listening to God and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

