He Came

Years ago, I had a dream of God and Jesus talking about Him coming to earth. Jesus  said to his Father, it is time for me to go. God, as any earthly father, in anguish said, “I can’t let you go, my Son. You have no idea how people are going to treat you.” He went on to tell Jesus what a difficult task that would be. Although Jesus, as an obedient son, listened respectfully, He reminded his Dad that they had promised a Savior to this world and He needed to go now! That dream never left me!

One day as I was spending time listening in the morning, the dream I had of this scene in heaven highlighted again the wonderful gift Jesus gave us.

Two thousand years ago, I came to earth.
Many people would not believe I was God’s Son.
For me, leaving the awesome glories of heaven
to come down to earth as a human baby was challenging.
Unless you have caught a glimpse of my home in heaven,
you cannot comprehend the utter beauty and peace
which pervades this majestic and wonderful place.
I willingly came to be born in a lowly, dirty stable
to Mary, a teenage girl, and Joseph.
They were willing to accept
the miracle of my conception and birth,
to raise me as one of their own.
They loved me very much.
Although they had been told by angels I was a special child,
at times, believing I was the Messiah was hard.
The world, at that time, was torn apart
by conquering Roman armies,
and by greedy, self-righteous priests.
I came to tell people there was a better plan.
God wanted to make a change in their hearts and lives.

 

About Rose Spillenaar Harmer

Rose is a retired marriage and family therapist and speaks on subjects related to prayer, spirituality, marriage and mental health. She travels throughout North America and one of her favorite subjects is "listening to God" through scripture, sermons and the still, inaudible voice of the Holy Spirit. She writes a weekly devotional called listeningtohear.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Devotional, Spirituality, Listening to God and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

