God is Always Near

When we pray to God, I believe it can be a two way conversation. He does not usually speak in an audible voice, but to many people, He speaks to our thoughts. He asks us to lay down those burdens we carry. He teaches us to pay attention to the priorities of life instead of the urgent day-to-day matters. Mary Swope in her book “Listening Prayer” says, “Learning to hear God speak to me personally through the Holy Spirit has been the most exciting, thrilling and exhilarating experience of my whole life.” I trust as you read my simple “listening” you will also take the time to listen to the Master.

You have trusted me these forty years.
My children always can depend on me for strength,
love, peace and a sound mind.
I give you many things and ask you to use them wisely.

 Psalm 81:5(b),6,7,  (NLT) “I heard an unknown voice say, ” Now I will take the load from your shoulders, I will free your hands from their heavy tasks. You cried to me in trouble and I saved you.”

 Often at this time of the year, though there can be abundant joy and laughter, often there are also heavy loads and responsibilities.Yet as we go to Him daily in prayer, confessing our needs,God directs us into a more peaceful and restful life, which brings glory to Him – instead of the frazzled nerves, tired looking faces and tension we sometimes allow in our lives. I trust you will have a healthy, happy, restful and God-centered year.

 

 

About Rose Spillenaar Harmer

Rose is a retired marriage and family therapist and speaks on subjects related to prayer, spirituality, marriage and mental health. She travels throughout North America and one of her favorite subjects is "listening to God" through scripture, sermons and the still, inaudible voice of the Holy Spirit. She writes a weekly devotional called listeningtohear.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Bible, Old Testament, Psalms, Psalms 081 and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

