Pleasant Conversations

“Let your conversation be gracious and attractive so that you will have the right response for everyone.” Colossians 4:6 (NLT)

 Have you ever wished you could retract hasty words you have spoken? I know I have! Yet, I have many friends who are very loving and kind in each and every conversation we have together. I finally went to God is prayer asking Him to change me.

 Yes, I will gladly teach you to curb your tongue.

As James said, in My Word, it is the most unruly member in your body.

Your speech must be tamed if you are going to bring Me the love and obedience I want.

How hard is it to give up the privilege of saying what you think is true at the time?

However, if you trust Me, I will see that My truth wins out.

My loving ways can be expressed through you as learn from Me.

 As a marriage and family therapist, one of the exercises we would do was to encourage a couple to say whatever they wished to each other, and they had to use their finger to point to the other person. If you use your index finger to emphasize your speech, you will note that the other three fingers are pointing back at yourself.

Perhaps this is what Christ meant when He offered this analogy concerning judging others: “And why worry about a speck in your friend’s eye when you have a log in your own? How can you think of saying, ‘Friend, let me help you get rid of that speck in your eye when you can’t see past the log in your own eye? Hypocrite! First get rid of the log in your own eye, then you will see well enough to deal with the speck in your friend’s eye.” Luke 6:41,41 NLT

 I do want to learn to make my words gracious and attractive!

About Rose Spillenaar Harmer

Rose is a retired marriage and family therapist and speaks on subjects related to prayer, spirituality, marriage and mental health. She travels throughout North America and one of her favorite subjects is "listening to God" through scripture, sermons and the still, inaudible voice of the Holy Spirit. She writes a weekly devotional called listeningtohear.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Bible, Devotional, Spirituality, Listening to God, New Testament, Purposeful Living. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

