Love Others

“A second (commandment) is equally important: Love your neighbor as yourself”, Jesus replied. Matthew 22:39 (NLT)

 When you love people and genuinely care for others.
It is a precious gift I give you to use for My kingdom.
I want hands and feet to allow others to know about
My great love for them.
I want them to know My friendship is there;
friendship which will comfort and give them courage.
Let your light shine so others will know and see
what I have done for you.
I love you!

 Recently, a gentleman, who sat at our Sunday School table for the past three months, suddenly died. Although we knew his name and chatted each Sunday morning, we had not taken the time to know his circumstances.

Apparently he and his wife had attended our church for some time. Yet, in a church with almost a thousand people attending and two services there are many members we do not know. His wife had died and Terry (not his real name) lived alone. Perhaps I could have tried to find out where he lived and a phone number.

But now in the future, I will begin, at my table at least, to know and care for the family of God and learn to see others as Jesus did while He walked this earth.

There is an old song “Oh to be His hand extended, reaching out to the oppressed.” I want to always be God’s extended hand to those around me.

 

 

 

 

About Rose Spillenaar Harmer

Rose is a retired marriage and family therapist and speaks on subjects related to prayer, spirituality, marriage and mental health. She travels throughout North America and one of her favorite subjects is "listening to God" through scripture, sermons and the still, inaudible voice of the Holy Spirit. She writes a weekly devotional called listeningtohear.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Bible, Devotional, Spirituality, Listening to God, Matthew, New Testament, Purposeful Living and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

