Be Quiet and Listen

You have much to learn about meditation and reflection.
Paul spent three years on the backside of the Arabian desert
learning from Me.
I spent forty days and nights alone on the mountains.
If you wish to write my words, you have to learn how to
be quiet and listen.
Be still and know
I am God!

 “This is what the Sovereign Lord, the Holy One of Israel says, ‘Only in returning to me will you be saved. In quietness and confidence is your strength.'” Isaiah 30:15 (NLT)

 Very few people I know take time to be quiet. We are so busy with the mundane duties of this modern day life, we don’t acknowledge the need to be like Mary who sat at Jesus’ feet listening to the knowledge He imparted. I know it has been a couple years since I took half a day to meditate on scripture and allow my Master to impart knowledge to me.

Yet, Jesus took forty days, away from his family and his work before He started his ministry. When I read the scripture in Isaiah I wondered if I take one day away from home every six months and spend uninterrupted time with God, I would have  the confidence and quiet demeanor I admire in other Christians.

About Rose Spillenaar Harmer

Rose is a retired marriage and family therapist and speaks on subjects related to prayer, spirituality, marriage and mental health. She travels throughout North America and one of her favorite subjects is "listening to God" through scripture, sermons and the still, inaudible voice of the Holy Spirit. She writes a weekly devotional called listeningtohear.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Bible, Devotional, Listening to God, Spirituality and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

