Appropriate My Strength

I care about the sparrow that falls.
I clothe the wild flowers with their beautiful colors.
Do you not think I will provide for you?
I promised to supply all your needs.
Your desires for emotional, physical and spiritual stability will be met.
Access My power, strength, love and peace!
Ask and you will receive.
You have been obedient with the talents I have entrusted to you.
Now, I will give you more.
You will find My strength is made perfect in your weaknesses.
You are conscious of these imperfections.
Now learn about the strengths I am giving you.
Appropriate them for your life and work.
Try me now and see!

“I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.”
Philippians 4:13 (NLT) 

Many times, we do not attempt projects because we are only focused on our doubts, fears and weaknesses. Some people are plagued with feelings of impeding failure and inadequacy. This scripture speaks to our lives again and again.

From a high school dropout who finally went back to school at age forty, I can attest to having those feelings. When I asked God to take over my life, He showered me with blessings. He helped me get a Master’s degree in counseling. With His guidance I started a nonprofit counseling agency which, at times, had 15 employees. He blessed my life as a marriage and family therapist for over twenty-five years.

God gave me the desire to listen closely to His words of love, comfort and guidance. Because He strengthens me daily, I wish others to know My Savior in the same way. The simple “listenings” I share hopefully will inspire you to take five or ten minutes each day to be still and hear from our Heavenly Father.

About Rose Spillenaar Harmer

Rose is a retired marriage and family therapist and speaks on subjects related to prayer, spirituality, marriage and mental health. She travels throughout North America and one of her favorite subjects is "listening to God" through scripture, sermons and the still, inaudible voice of the Holy Spirit. She writes a weekly devotional called listeningtohear.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Bible, Devotional, Spirituality, Listening to God, New Testament, Philippians and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Appropriate My Strength

  1. Bob Hunter says:

    “Many times, we do not attempt projects because we are only focused on our doubts, fears and weaknesses. Some people are plagued with feelings of impeding failure and inadequacy.”

    Unfortunately this describes how I feel much of the time, with the result that I’ve often been tempted to not attempt or to give up on various projects that have opened up for me.

    “This scripture [I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me] speaks to our lives again and again.”

    Fortunately this has also been true for me, with the result that with Christ’s help I’ve been able to attempt or continue in at least some of those projects.

    “Because He strengthens me daily, I wish others to know My Savior in the same way. The simple “listenings” I share hopefully will inspire you to take five or ten minutes each day to be still and hear from our Heavenly Father.”

    Keep up the good work, Rose!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

