Don’t Panic

“Don’t panic. I’m with you,
There’s no need to fear for I’m your God.
I’ll give you strength. I’ll help you.

I’ll hold you steady, keep a firm grip on you.”
(Isaiah 41:10 The Message)

 “When you go through deep waters,
I will be with you.
When you go through rivers of difficulty,
you will not drown.
When you walk through the fire of oppression,
you will not be burned up;
the flames will not consume you,
For I am the Lord, your God.” (Isaiah 43:2 NLT)

 Often the Lord speaks to us through the pages of our Bibles. Lately, I had been reading the Message, which although a paraphrase and not a translation, sometimes speaks to my mind in a very direct manner. Today it did! We desperately needed to hear the words “Don’t panic, I am with you.” There were some stressors on our minds which brought along anxiety and fear. With this scripture came peace as I realized the Lord would give us strength, hold us steady and would take our hands as we traversed some unfamiliar terrain.

Recently at a Bible Study, some women were going through rivers of difficulty, one has MS, another woman’s husband had two severe strokes early this year. Yet, they felt God’s presence. As we heard from many women who had underlined this passage in their Bibles we were encouraged by their testimonies. There are many verses the Holy Spirit shows us in the Word which speak of God’s protection and commitment.

About Rose Spillenaar Harmer

Rose is a retired marriage and family therapist and speaks on subjects related to prayer, spirituality, marriage and mental health. She travels throughout North America and one of her favorite subjects is "listening to God" through scripture, sermons and the still, inaudible voice of the Holy Spirit. She writes a weekly devotional called listeningtohear.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Don’t Panic

  1. Bob Hunter says:

    Encouraging scriptures!

    I agree that paraphrases can be helpful. Like you, I grew up on the KJV. I was introduced to the RSV at university and used it along with the KJV for years. When the NIV came out, it became my favourite version and remained so through the rest of my teaching years. However I liked the Living Bible, the forerunner of NLT (one of the paraphrases used in your quotations), well enough to buy copies for my students one year. Now I read mainly from the ESV (an evangelical version of the RSV) and the current version of the NIV, having a study Bible in each.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Grace Adams says:

    Hi Rose, Don’t Panic is what I needed this morning as I went to the jail and wasn’t supposed to be there. Love you, Grace

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Like

Leave a Reply

