Light and Love

 

My child, I came to bring you light! Enjoy the things I have supplied for you. I am more interested in you becoming all I created you to be, instead of doing things. Be cheerful and agreeable. Enjoy my love and peace. You will do well. I am with you and will never leave you or forsake you. I am coming for a people who desire to love Me.

 God said, “Let there be light,” and there was light. Gen. 1:3 (NIV)  Sometimes, I find I cloud my days with too many scheduled things. I look at the list of duties to be performed and often feel overwhelmed and out of sorts. Fortunately, when I take the time to listen to God, He reminds me, He is interested in me being a Christian instead of doing the tasks I think I “should.” Together, in the mornings, God will help me purge the list of unnecessary tasks. I truly feel He takes delight in us simply expressing our love for Him. When we toured Billy Graham’s library in Charlotte last year, one interviewer asked him if there was anything he regretted. He said he would not have been so busy if he could live his life over. He would spend more time, sitting at the feet of Jesus loving Him. “But the Lord said to her, “My dear Martha, you are worried and upset over all these details. There is only one thing worth being concerned about. Mary has discovered it, and it will not be taken away from her.” Luke 10:41,42 (NIV)

About Rose Spillenaar Harmer

Rose is a retired marriage and family therapist and speaks on subjects related to prayer, spirituality, marriage and mental health. She travels throughout North America and one of her favorite subjects is "listening to God" through scripture, sermons and the still, inaudible voice of the Holy Spirit. She writes a weekly devotional called listeningtohear.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Devotional, Light and Love, Rose Harmer, Spirituality and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

