I Have Much to Teach You

I have much to teach you
You have much to learn!
The only way I can teach is for you to be still
and know that I am God.
I want you to know I really love you.
Intellectually you know I do, yet you are busy
and don’t take time to talk together.
Even now, it is almost as if you want to fly away.
Take time to study my creatures – happy, playful and joyful!

I want you to be joyful.

As I looked at these words this morning, I thought about a little chorus we sang as children: “The birds upon the treetop sing their song. The angels chant their chorus all day long, the flowers in the garden blend their hue, so why shouldn’t I, why shouldn’t you, praise Him too.” He wants us to wait upon Him and praise Him until we are full of the joy of the Lord.

 It is true as I watch the squirrels chase one another up and down the trees and see the beauty in the cardinals and blue jays, my heart overflows with joy. When we are joyful, people are more interested to know about the joy and want to spend more time in our company.

“…for the joy of the Lord is our strength.” Nehemiah 8:10 (NIV)

About Rose Spillenaar Harmer

Rose is a retired marriage and family therapist and speaks on subjects related to prayer, spirituality, marriage and mental health. She travels throughout North America and one of her favorite subjects is "listening to God" through scripture, sermons and the still, inaudible voice of the Holy Spirit. She writes a weekly devotional called listeningtohear.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Devotional, Listening to Hear, Rose Harmer, Spirituality and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

