Remain Yielded

IMG_1356

 While touring Bethsaida, we noticed the marker in the above photo. As well as the inscribed words depicting Jesus’ invitation to Simon Peter and Andrew, it also pointed to the excavation of a fisherman’s house. Surprisingly, it appeared quite spacious and comfortable.

“One day as Jesus was walking along the shore of the Sea of Galilee, he saw Simon and his brother Andrew throwing a net into the water, for they fished for a living. Jesus called out to them, ‘Come, follow me, and I will show you how to fish for people!’ And they left their nets at once and followed him.” Mark 1:16-18 (NLT)

 You are my hands and feet down on earth.
Others will only see Me through you,
when you yield your days to Me.
I will use you to spread the message of my love.
In every life surrendered to Me, I help.
I can accomplish more in your life
as you remain yielded to Me.

When the disciples left the fishing family business to follow Jesus, they left behind a comfortable lifestyle and a good livelihood. Somehow, I had never imagined fishing to be a lucrative business until I met people engaged in the profession and saw this particular house. Yet, these disciples obeyed Christ and followed Him. Simon Peter remained yielded to Christ until the day he was crucified upside down as legend tells us. I know in my father’s generation, many left the comfort of homes to preach the gospel. I am thankful for their sacrifices. Christ’s commandment to us is to follow and obey Him. I do want to remain surrendered to the Lord.

About Rose Spillenaar Harmer

Rose is a retired marriage and family therapist and speaks on subjects related to prayer, spirituality, marriage and mental health. She travels throughout North America and one of her favorite subjects is "listening to God" through scripture, sermons and the still, inaudible voice of the Holy Spirit. She writes a weekly devotional called listeningtohear.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Remain Yielded

  1. Bob Hunter says:

    “I had never imagined fishing to be a lucrative business.” Neither did I until I read your post. Thanks for the information and for the encouragement to follow Peter and Andrew’s example.

    Like

  2. I delight in your devotionals, and especially, now, the comments/explanations/picturees re your recent travels in the Holy Land. God bless.

    Like

  3. Rose Harmer says:

    So glad you are enjoying them. Trust everything is going well for you. Rose Harmer

    Like

Leave a Reply

