Mount of Beatitudes

IMG_1346While exploring the north end of the Sea of Galilee, someone suggested we take a trail leading to the place where Jesus may have taught the Sermon on the Mount. The trail was not very well marked and finally we gave up hiking and took the road to the church built on top of the mountain. The grounds and church commemorating this site are beautiful and while we were there, we listened to part of a service being held on the grounds nearby. They were praying for the peace of Israel.

When I returned I looked up the beautiful words of Christ in the Message Bible, which are paraphrased as follows: “You’re blessed when you’re at the end of your rope. With less of you there is more of God and his rule.” Matt 5:3

 I know it seems My walk is a difficult pathway.
There are many mountains to climb.
Sometimes tears dim your eyes and you stumble over rocks along the way.
Remember, I am with you always.
I give you angels to guard you.
The trail can be rough and, at times,

it may seem there are not many fellow travelers.
While on earth, I walked the same path.
I experienced the same longings you do.
But one day, we will welcome you home and say “well done.”

 The scripture blessed my heart as there are countless times I seem to be at the end of myself. It is wonderful to know Jesus cares. There is an old hymn written by Frank E. Graeff entitled “Does Jesus Care?” One line goes like this: “Oh yes, He cares, I know He cares, His heart is touched with my grief. When the days are dreary, the long nights weary, I know my Savior cares.” I’m glad I can go to Him in prayer and receive assurance that He cares about all the details of our lives and wants to guide me.

About Rose Spillenaar Harmer

Rose is a retired marriage and family therapist and speaks on subjects related to prayer, spirituality, marriage and mental health. She travels throughout North America and one of her favorite subjects is "listening to God" through scripture, sermons and the still, inaudible voice of the Holy Spirit. She writes a weekly devotional called listeningtohear.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Bible, Devotional, Spirituality, Listening to God, Matthew, Matthew 005, New Testament and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

