Giving

IMG_1800

This picture was taken in Maratea, Italy showing Christ with His arms outstretched bringing salvation, healing, comfort and guidance to the world.

Do not clutch at earthly possessions.
Allow your hands to be free to receive blessings from on High –
blessings to be passed on to others.
You cannot keep your possessions.
Do not withhold your acts of kindness, but spread them to the world.
I have blessed you!
Now bless those around you
and those in less fortunate countries.

 “Give, and it shall be given unto you; good measure, pressed down, and shaken together…Luke 6:38 (KJV)

 Recently, I wanted an earthly possession which I thought I really needed though my husband didn’t think so. In our American way of life, we are subjected to many messages about the material things in life. It creates a false sense of need. Consequently, many of us spend money on luxuries while others go without necessities. When I was preparing the blog today, I came across this “listening” which I felt God was telling me to use.

I try to follow God’s leading and recognize He often uses other people to reinforce His will for our lives. I cannot promise you that following His Word and His Ways are easy, but Jesus promises us His burden is light. I have seen enough of life to know His burden is lighter than the heavy load of debt, or discontent, or sin. He really has given to us abundantly. Again, as I have many times in the past, I will lay my desires down, hold lightly to this world’s ways, and obey my Heavenly Father.

If you are struggling with something, please respond to this post with your questions and comments.

 

About Rose Spillenaar Harmer

Rose is a retired marriage and family therapist and speaks on subjects related to prayer, spirituality, marriage and mental health. She travels throughout North America and one of her favorite subjects is "listening to God" through scripture, sermons and the still, inaudible voice of the Holy Spirit. She writes a weekly devotional called listeningtohear.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Bible, Devotional, Spirituality, Listening to God, New Testament. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

