Give Me This Day

My child, again you are fretting over little things.
It is difficult when you try to please everyone.
In an ideal world, without the distractions
you would only want to please Me.
Your heart would not be divided as it is now.
Some of my saints were able to achieve the
single minded life of only pleasing Me.
Give Me this day.
Do everything as if I truly was your Lord and Master.
Let all your actions reflect Me.
Do not forget I was a carpenter for many years.
That was the task My Father had designed.
There is nothing particularly glamorous in being a carpenter
or a housewife.
However, our lives, lived in obedience to God will bring Him glory.

 “Do not love this world nor the things it offers you, for when you love the world, you do not have the love of the Father in you. For the world offers only a craving for physical pleasure, a craving for everything we see, and pride in our achievements and possessions.” 1 John 1:15,16 (NLT)

 As I picked up this “listening” from my journal writings, it seemed very appropriate. When my husband and I return to our small condo after our summer vacation, we both seem overwhelmed by the tasks we deem important. These tasks also often prevent me from spending time with my heavenly Father.

I purposed this one day to not fret about the little things and try to be more conscious of my Father’s leading and guiding. The result of the experiment was I had peace throughout a four hour stress test (normally I would be agitated because this was a waste of time). Everyone was kind and very thoughtful, one nurse even gave me her woolen gloves to keep my fingers warm in the very cold room. God’s quiet peace was in my heart and it was a very good day (without anything wrong with me). The rest of Thursday was wonderful and Saturday, my husband and I purposed to make it restful, was also peaceful.

I would like to say I can be obedient every day and, I do pray to have more of God’s direction in my days.

About Rose Spillenaar Harmer

Rose is a retired marriage and family therapist and speaks on subjects related to prayer, spirituality, marriage and mental health. She travels throughout North America and one of her favorite subjects is "listening to God" through scripture, sermons and the still, inaudible voice of the Holy Spirit. She writes a weekly devotional called listeningtohear.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Bible, Devotional, Spirituality, Listening to God, New Testament and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Give Me This Day

  1. Shelby Plyler says:

    Thank you, Rose. I always enjoy your posts.
    Shelby

    Like

Leave a Reply

